Lemon Drop Moment

Lord, make me a helper suitable for him.

DSCF0071~The Lord God said, “It is not good for the man to be alone. I will make a helper suitable for him.”Genesis 2:18 NIV~

Today is our 7th anniversary. It hardly seems like seven years. In honesty, I feel we have been together much longer [in a very good way!]. God put us together just like pieces of a puzzle…a good fit.

I spent many years in agony wanting and waiting for a husband. There were only a few other candidates prior to my beloved husband. I mourned over the loss of them in wonder of what was wrong with me that they would not ask me that simple question: “will you marry me?”

Looking back, God had a much better plan and purpose for me as He always does. I was unaware of this simple concept at the time. I had not found Jesus yet. God was protecting me from myself before I even knew that.

We met through the internet. He answered my personal ad. Yes, dear ones, back in the day before my Lord Jesus saved me, I placed personal ads on the internet. Oh, the stories I could tell. I placed myself in some uneasy situations. I even went all the way to Baltimore once [in the summer of 1997 I think it was] to meet someone. My goodness what was I thinking? I was thinking how badly I needed to find that special someone. Through those times of searching, God was sheltering me without my knowledge of course!

We exchanged emails and telephone calls for nearly two months before I would agree to meet him. We met July 14, 2002, it would be the day that changed my life. When Salah gave me my first hug, my head just fit on his shoulder and that was a good sign. I did not have to stand on my tiptoes to reach that special spot. I just fit…right there…so nice so cozy. He wore Christian Dior Fahrenheit cologne. And we spent our first date watching the Rock Aqua Jays [of Janesville, Wisconsin] and then went to Perkins for coffee. I even remember that when we were sitting in the bleachers watching the water-ski show I had been sitting on his right side. He told me, “Do you mind if you sit on my left side, I want to see you.” Such a smoothie!

Well, we dated a couple of times more when in September of that year [2002], he ended up having double bypass surgery. That was what brought us closer together. He popped the “BIG M” question on my birthday two months later. We married in March of 2003 only 8 months after meeting. I confess at first I was not so willing to accept this new gift. I doubted God’s wisdom and thought, “why this man and what made him more special than the others I had chosen?” I prayed several times asking Jesus to to make it clear to me what He would have me do. His answer every time, “Love this man.” I did as I was told. Everyday since seems like a gift. God certainly is the best match maker ever.

In these past few years, we have been blessed in numerous ways. Jesus has touched our lives and made us the husband and wife team we are today. Just yesterday as we went to the store my Salah told me, “I am glad you decided to come with me to the store. I am just so used to having you at my side. I am not sure what I would do without you there.” That my dear ones, is the best gift of love anyone could share…his open heart. My husband touches my heart and fills my eyes with tears of joy. He always knows just what to say and how to say it. I give the credit to my Lord Jesus who shines through my husband shaping me into a helper suitable for him.

Leave a Reply

