Lemon Drop Moment

My goodness it is February already.

It has been a major self discovery winter for me this year. The changes to my husband’s employment back in September paved the way for new life happenings and experiences to unfold God’s true character within my heart and my life. How often I have prayed to my Lord Jesus,

“Lord, lead and guide me, make and mold me into the woman and wife you would have me to be. Prepare me for the changes ahead and let my eyes see what you are showing me, let my ears hear what you are telling me, protect and shape my thoughts and mind to understand what  you are teaching me.”

I have prayed those words and similar words over and over and over. Then when God is so great as to hear and answer my prayers, do I listen and obey? Nay, that would be far to easy. Instead, I continue to resist His nudging and coaching. I pretend I do not hear Him speaking to me. I act as if I have it all under control and He does not need to help me at this moment, I will wait until I have made a genuine mess and created so much chaos in my life that I finally humble my pride. That three year old in me sure knows how to through the dandiest of temper tantrums! I lack the maturity. Will I ever grow up? Perhaps…not…at least…in the way the world would want me to accomplish.

Then we will no longer be babies. We will not be tossed about like a ship that the waves carry one way and then another. We will not  be influenced by every new teaching we hear from people who are trying to fool us.”

I came across a great quote by Nancy Leigh DeMoss:

“Each of us is accountable to God for our personal holiness. At the same time, God never intended that we should battle sin single-handedly. Is it sometimes hard to confess my need and ask for help? Absolutely! It requires that I humble myself and acknowledge that I don’t have it all together. The very pride that keeps you from taking off your mask and getting real is the same pride that will cause you to fall into sin. Humbling yourself by letting others into your life and allowing them to help you and hold you accountable will release the sanctifying, transforming grace of God in your life.”

A most excellent notion indeed. I seek out God’s guidance and direction in my life. I ask Him to place me back on His path for me. I pray to follow his plan and purposes instead of mine. Yet, I can continue to pick and choose when I REALLY need His help.

Jesus’ love alone has carried me through this winter semester at the University of Hard Knocks [I am currently working on my PhD in life sciences.]!

Leave a Reply

