Daily Devotional: The Persistent Widow

Luke 18:1-8

The Parable of the Persistent Widow

1Then Jesus told his disciples a parable to show them that they should always pray and not give up. 2He said: "In a certain town there was a judge who neither feared God nor cared about men. 3And there was a widow in that town who kept coming to him with the plea, ‘Grant me justice against my adversary.’

4"For some time he refused. But finally he said to himself, ‘Even though I don’t fear God or care about men, 5yet because this widow keeps bothering me, I will see that she gets justice, so that she won’t eventually wear me out with her coming!’ "

prayer lil girl 6And the Lord said, "Listen to what the unjust judge says. 7And will not God bring about justice for his chosen ones, who cry out to him day and night? Will he keep putting them off? 8I tell you, he will see that they get justice, and quickly. However, when the Son of Man comes, will he find faith on the earth?"

Jesus told a parable about a widow who kept going to an uncaring and unjust judge to get justice for a wrong done to her. She refused to give up whenever the judge ignored her or answered no. Instead she kept going to him until he finally gave in, tired of her constant badgering. The lesson here is not that you should badger God until you get what you want. He is loving and far from unjust and is eager to answer your prayers. When you go to him consistently and persistently, He will answer. Jesus’ lesson here is: Dont’ give up!

What have you been praying about for weeks, months, years? Follow the example of the woman in Jesus’ parable and don’t give up!

Father God, I come to You. Again. I bring the same request I’ve been bringing to You for weeks-months-years. i trust that You hear me, Lord, and I know You love me. I know that what I’m asking is within Your will and power. Fulfill my request, Lord. Or, if for some reason you must say no, give me the grace and understanding to accept it. Whatever Your answer, I love You, Lord, and will continue to trust in Your faithfulness to me. Amen.

Leave a Reply

