Daily Devotional: The plenty You’ve given me

2 Corinthians 9:6-8

6[Remember] this: he who sows sparingly and grudgingly will also reap sparingly and grudgingly, and he who sows generously [that blessings may come to someone] 2corinthians9_10 will also reap generously and with blessings.

7Let each one [give] as he has made up his own mind and purposed in his heart, not reluctantly or sorrowfully or under compulsion, for God loves (He takes pleasure in, prizes above other things, and is unwilling to abandon or to do without) a cheerful (joyous, "prompt to do it") giver [whose heart is in his giving].

8And God is able to make all grace (every favor and earthly blessing) come to you in abundance, so that you may always and under all circumstances and whatever the need be self-sufficient [possessing enough to require no aid or support and furnished in abundance for every good work and charitable donation].

In prayer time today, concentrate on your giving, not just on how  much you give, but on how you give it. Ask God to not only make you a generous giver but a jolly giver, one who delights in giving back to God and sharing with others.

Faithful God, show me today how I can give generously and with a truly cheerful attitude. Help me to never hold so tightly to the things I own that I can’t happily share them with others. Make me aware of the needs of others that I can meet with the plenty You’ve given me. And over it all, Lord, help me to realize that none of it really belongs to me anyway—it’s all a gift from Your hand. In the name of Jesus, the greatest gift of all, Amen.

Leave a Reply

