Daily Devotional: A long while before daylight

Mark 1:35-39

~35And in the morning, long before daylight, He got up and went out to a deserted place, and there He prayed.

36And Simon [Peter] and those who were with him followed Him [pursuing Him eagerly and hunting Him out],

37And they found Him and said to Him, Everybody is looking for You.

38And He said to them, Let us be going on into the neighboring country towns, that I may preach there also; for that is why I came out.

39[So] He went throughout the whole of Galilee, preaching in their synagogues and driving out demons.~

qtclock_lrg Banging, screeching, crying, yelling, pounding feet, repetitious toys, phones, washers and dryers, TV shows, computer games—the noise and commotion level in most households today would make your grandmother cover her ears in pain and take to the fields. Maybe you wish you could go with her at times, Jesus knew the value of time alone to meditate, revive, pray. Get as alone and quiet as you can in your prayer time today. You might have to get up early in the morning, “a long while before daylight.” Or  you  might have to get even more creative. Spend the time you have thinking about God, not the next thing to be done. Such times will give you renewal and refreshing, just as they gave Jesus the energy and purpose He needed in order to continue His ministry.

Dear Lord, help me to be more like You. Help[ me to recognize the value in getting away alone to pray.  My life is often so hectic, Lord, that I don’t think about spending time alone with You until I’m lying exhausted in my bed at night. Change me, Lord. Make me so hungry for  You that I must find time in my day to be alone with You. Amen.

Leave a Reply

