Daily Devotional: Praying the Word

2 Kings 20:1-11

Hezekiah’s Illness

1 In those days Hezekiah became ill and was at the point of death. The prophet Isaiah son of Amoz went to him and said, "This is what the LORD says: Put your house in order, because you are going to die; you will not recover."

2 Hezekiah turned his face to the wall and prayed to the LORD, 3 "Remember, O LORD, how I have walked before you faithfully and with wholehearted devotion and have done what is good in your eyes." And Hezekiah wept bitterly.

4 Before Isaiah had left the middle court, the word of the LORD came to him: 5 "Go back and tell Hezekiah, the leader of my people, ‘This is what the LORD, the God of your father David, says: I have heard your prayer and seen your tears; I will heal you. On the third day from now you will go up to the temple of the LORD. 6 I will add fifteen years to your life. And I will deliver you and this city from the hand of the king of Assyria. I will defend this city for my sake and for the sake of my servant David.’ "

7 Then Isaiah said, "Prepare a poultice of figs." They did so and applied it to the boil, and he recovered.

8 Hezekiah had asked Isaiah, "What will be the sign that the LORD will heal me and that I will go up to the temple of the LORD on the third day from now?"

9 Isaiah answered, "This is the LORD’s sign to you that the LORD will do what he has promised: Shall the shadow go forward ten steps, or shall it go back ten steps?"

10 "It is a simple matter for the shadow to go forward ten steps," said Hezekiah. "Rather, have it go back ten steps."

11 Then the prophet Isaiah called upon the LORD, and the LORD made the shadow go back the ten steps it had gone down on the stairway of Ahaz.

broke ace of heart Imagine Hezekiah’s surprise when Isaiah returned to his sick room and told him his prayer would be answered. Even when it seemed as if God had to change His mind to answer, answer He did. And wonderfully! You can trust God to do the same thing for you. When your prayer seems like it would be next to impossible to fulfill even for God, He hears and He answers. Not always in the way you would expect, not always in your timing, be He always answers.

What is your most outrageous prayer request? What do you want or need God to do in your life that would take a miracle to fulfill?

Spend your time in prayer today asking and believing God for its realization. Use  your own words to describe your need to God.

Then use the words of Mark 11:24: “Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask for in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours.”

AND, Matthew 6:10: “…your kingdom come, your will be done on earth as it is in heaven.”

to frame your belief in God’s ability to fulfill it and your desire for His perfect will in your life.

Father God, I lay my request before You today. With a humble heart I acknowledge that You alone are God, that You alone can fulfill this request. I believe in You, Lord. But even more, I trust You to decide what is best for me. More than the fulfillment of my request, I want Your will in my life. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Borrowed from The Women’s Devotional Guide to the Bible by Jean E. Syswerda

Leave a Reply

