Daily Devotional: Back to School

2 Timothy 3:16-17 New Century Version

~16 All Scripture is inspired by God and is useful for teaching, for showing people what is wrong in their lives, for correcting faults, and for teaching how to live right. 17 Using the Scriptures, the person who serves God will be capable, having all that is needed to do every good work.~

arg-dancing-back-to-school-red-on-white-url It is the middle of August. Summer is drawing to an end. I can sense the crisp chill of Autumn creeping into the air. I enjoy this time of year. The temperature is neither too hot nor too cold, just right. Time for the wee ones to head back to school. It has been ever so much more than twenty years since I had to face that first day back to school. I am ever grateful to be where I am.

In the past year, I have been attending home school with Jesus as my leader and instructor. Since moving out here to God’s countryside, I have been able to hear God’s words and voice so much clearer. My view of His wondrous landscape is breathtaking. The artistry of the changing of His seasons priceless. Each day my eyes are opened to a new marvel of His craftsmanship. In particular, the process of watching the four little kittens grow. They are fascinating. I am not a cat lover at heart, but I certainly find our cat Ayosh [pronounce eye-oosh] and her little kittens welcome entertainment. You can watch these little bundles of non-stop energy play for hours. Each one has their own unique personality.

Over the past few months, God has revealed to me how important my role as wife is to Him and my husband. I had moaned and groaned for years about finding that special someone to love me and take care of me. Well, I did, Jesus. Through His Holy Spirit, He has shaped me and molded me into the woman and wife He would want me to be. I had to ask Him into my heart and life first. I pray everyday for Jesus to continue to work out in me His plan and purpose. I give Him complete reign and authority in my life. There is so such a mess to clean up from all my stubbornness and poor decision making skills.

Now with Him leading and guiding me, I am a better ‘helper suitable’ for my husband. It is an immense honor to serve the Lord as a helper and supporter for my husband. It is the best job anyone has ever given me. As the days are filled with God’s life and love around us, I am thankful for the husband He has provided for me. The Lord made such a great choice. If it had been left in my hands, let’s just say, it would not have turned out as well!

school18So, I off to school, God’s school, seeking a better understanding of Him. I pray to know Him more. 

I can hardly wait for the next class!

 

 

Leave a Reply

