Daily Devotional: Lovers of money never have enough

Proverbs 30:8-9 for August 11, 2009

8 Keep falsehood and lies far from me;
       give me neither poverty nor riches,
       but give me only my daily bread.

9 Otherwise, I may have too much and disown you
       and say, ‘Who is the LORD ?’
       Or I may become poor and steal,
       and so dishonor the name of my God.

A millionaire was once asked how many millions it would take to satisfy him. His answer? “The next one.” Once we develop a love of money, we can never get enough. It becomes the driving force in our lives, and it drives us far away from God.

AnimatedMoney Satan would have us believe that gaining money and possessions will satisfy our inner longings. However, quite the opposite can be true. It can make us more greedy, more prideful and more insecure. True contentment comes from trusting God and being satisfied with what he provides. Hebrews 13:5 declares, “Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said, ‘Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.’”

How much are you motivated by the desire to make more money? If you’re putting work before God, ask him to help reset your priorities.

Leave a Reply

